Minutes – Executive Session

After a short break the Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on January 18, 2017 beginning at 6:40 P.M. Board members present were Mehrens, Kroenke, Eckhoff, Beaman, Parrott, Sell, and Yearout. No one was absent.

Kevin Smith, Marc Spunaugle, Becky Eifert, and Carol Waibel were also present.

Mr. Smith updated the board on recent student issues/concerns.

Mr. Spunaugle shared information regarding a student policy violation. Based on the information presented, it was the recommendation of the Superintendent that the student be suspended from school for a term of 365 days.

Motion by Yearout, seconded by Sell to suspend the student from school for a term of 365 days. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-yes; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

At 6:55 P.M., Mr. Smith excused himself from the meeting.

At 7:00 P.M., Mr. Spunaugle and Mrs. Eifert excused themselves from the meeting so the board could conduct the annual evaluation of the Superintendent.

The board discussed the evaluation.

Board members considered extending Kevin Smith's superintendent contract for the 2019-2020 school year. It was the consensus of board members that Mr. Smith has met or exceeded all performance expectations in each performance area. A motion was made by Parrot, seconded by Beaman to extend Kevin Smith's superintendent contract for the 2019-2020 school year beginning on July 1, 2019 with the salary to be determined prior to July 1, 2017. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-yes; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

At 7:05 P.M., Mr. Smith was called back into the meeting and was informed of the contract offer.

 $Minutes-Executive\ Session$ 

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Beaman, seconded by Kroenke to adjourn the executive session at 7:10 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-yes; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education