

Student/Classroom:	Examiner:	Assessment Date:

The United States 714

Sopris West Six-Minute Solutions

The United States of America is a big country. It is made up of 50 states (and) Washington D.C. The "D.C." (means) District of Columbia. Washington, D.C. (is) the capital of the United States. (Of) the 50 states in the United States, 48 (are) on the continent of North America. (These) 48 states touch one another. They are (known) as the continental United States. The (other) two states in the United States (are) Hawaii and Alaska. The continental United (States) is divided into six regions. The (first) region is called the Northeastern Region. (It) consists of nine states. Three of (the) eight mid Atlantic states are also (included) in the Northeastern Region. These states (are) New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. (The) other six states in the Northeastern (Region) are also known as the New (England) states. They include Maine, Massachusetts, New (Hampshire), Vermont, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. Captain (John) Smith called these states New England (because) they reminded him of England. Many (important) cities such as New York City, (Boston), and Philadelphia are located in the (northeast). There are also many famous historical (sites). The Southern states are another region (in) the United States. There are twelve (southern) states. Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, and (Tennessee) are southern states. Many of these (states) have a warm climate and rich, (fertile) soil. Those conditions were perfect for (growing) tobacco and cotton. Large plantations, which (relied) on slave labor, dominated the

Southern (economy) at one time. Conflicts over slavery (led) to the Civil War in 1861.

Curriculum-Based Measurement: <i>Maze Passag</i>	e: Student Copy	#/Correct:	_#/Errors:
Student Name:	Classroom:	Date	:

The United States 714

Sopris West Six-Minute Solutions

The United States of America is a big country. It is made up of 50 states (debt, weigh, and) Washington D.C. The "D.C." (means, dog, hair) District of Columbia. Washington, D.C. (briefly, bag, is) the capital of the United States. (Irritably, Of, Invent) the 50 states in the United States, 48 (are, gracefully, harmony) on the continent of North America. (Connection, Rinse, These) 48 states touch one another. They are (known, proud, oil) as the continental United States. The (other, goat, bury) two states in the United States (are, design, get) Hawaii and Alaska.

The continental United (States, poor, explode) is divided into six regions. The (degree, first, a) region is called the Northeastern Region. (Tame, Metal, It) consists of nine states. Three of (calculate, gentle, the) eight mid Atlantic states are also (included, knowledge, suck) in the Northeastern Region. These states (are, shirt, crush) New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. (The, Develop, Produce) other six states in the Northeastern (tenderly, drink, Region) are also known as the New (England, condemned, everyone) states. They include Maine, Massachusetts, New (cruel, give, Hampshire), Vermont, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. Captain (John, test, innocent) Smith called these states New England (because, cold, elated) they reminded him of England. Many (important, cushion, attend) cities such as New York City, (Boston, sugar, language), and Philadelphia are located in the (body, northeast, cake). There are also many famous historical (powerfully, sites, elated). The Southern states are another region (boot, in, settle) the United States. There are twelve (tomorrow, southern, distance) states. Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, and (behavior, field, Tennessee) are southern states. Many of these (states, rate, calm) have a warm climate and rich, (fertile, dry, crazy) soil. Those conditions were perfect for (growing, expand, before) tobacco and cotton. Large plantations, which (relied, sore, cat) on slave labor, dominated the Southern (confused, economy, wonderful) at one time. Conflicts over slavery (led, shirt, excite) to the Civil War in 1861.