## School Board Re-Organizational Meeting Minutes Jackson County Central Schools ISD #2895 January 7<sup>th</sup>, 2015

The Jackson County Central School Board held their re-organizational meeting on Wednesday, January 7<sup>th</sup>, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Board room.

Superintendent Todd Meyer called the meeting to order and had roll call at 7:00 p.m.

Members present: Jeff Johnson, Holli Arp, Rhonda Moore, Kirk Dunlavey, Brad Anderson, and Jody Thrush. Also present: Ex-Officio Superintendent Todd Meyer, Justin Lessman (Livewire), Dave Schmidt (KKOJ), and Chris Naumann.

Motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Thrush to approve the agenda as presented. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Thrush and seconded by Johnson to elect Rhonda Moore to the Chair position for the 2015 year. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Chair Moore assumed her position and continued the election.

Motion was made by Arp and seconded by Anderson to elect Jody Thrush to the Vice Chair position for the 2015 year. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Anderson to elect Kirk Dunlavey to the Clerk position for the 2015 year. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Thrush and seconded by Arp to elect Jeff Johnson to the Treasurer position for the 2015 year. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Dunlavey to approve the following school board committee assignments for 2015:

## 2015 Current JCC School Board Committees

Activity Council Jeff Johnson & Rhonda Moore & Kirk Dunlavey

Budget/Finance Brad Anderson & Jody Thrush
Community Ed. Kirk Dunlavey & Tim Thurmer
Ed Foundation Brad Anderson & Holli Arp
Facilities Brad Anderson & Kirk Dunlavey

Legislative/Regional Rep Rhonda Moore

Meet & Confer Jody Thrush & Tim Thurmer

MSHSL Rep Jeff Johnson

Negotiations Jody Thrush & Holli Arp & Rhonda Moore

Policy Holli Arp & Jody Thrush

Pool Board Staff Development/Integration Transportation Wellness Jeff Johnson & Kirk Dunlavey Holli Arp & Jody Thrush Brad Anderson & Tim Thurmer Jeff Johnson & Rhonda Moore

All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Arp and seconded by Thrush to approve setting the 2015 JCC Board Meeting Dates & Times in the Board Room as follows:

January	26	6:00 p.m.
February	23	6:00 p.m.
March	23	6:00 p.m.
April	27	6:00 p.m.
May	18	6:00 p.m.
June	22	6:00 p.m.
July	27	6:00 p.m.
August	24	6:00 p.m.
September	28	6:00 p.m.
October	26	6:00 p.m.
November	23	6:00 p.m.
December	14	6:00 p.m.

All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Arp to approve setting the Robert Rules of Order to run meetings. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Dunlavey to approve designating the official newspaper of the school district as the Jackson County Pilot and Lakefield Standard as agreed on 8/21/97. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Arp and seconded by Thrush to approve designating the following banks as depositories of school funds and authorize the superintendent and business manager to sign release agreements for pledged securities for collateral purposes, including electronic transfers: 1<sup>st</sup> National Bank (Lakefield), Bank of the West (Lakefield), Bank Midwest (Jackson), Farmers & Merchants State Bank (Alpha), Jackson Federal Savings and Loan Association, Minnesota Liquid Assets Fund, and United Prairie Bank (Jackson). All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Thrush and seconded by Johnson to approve signing facsimile signature to sign checks. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Anderson to approve authorizing payment of bills between board meetings for the purpose of obtaining a discount or a required prepayment on an order, or to avoid penalty charges, pay registration. Also, approve authorizing the district to pay board bills in the event a board meeting is not held. Approve authorizing the superintendent and business manager to approve the processing of payments for invoices submitted under contracts approved by the Board and under circumstances when it is deemed necessary and appropriate to proceed with a payment. Roll call vote taken. Members present voting yes: Arp, Anderson, Dunlavey, Moore, Johnson, and Thrush. Voting no: None. Members abstaining: None. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion was made by Arp and seconded by Dunlavey to approve designating the Superintendent of Schools as Custodian of Records. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Arp to approve setting board member compensation for 2015. <u>2014 Compensation:</u> \$45-regular board meeting, \$55-Chair and Clerk, \$45-committee meetings, \$75-all day in-service & workshops. Motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Arp to add \$10 to each meeting. All members present yes, amended motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Arp and seconded by Dunlavey to approve designating Kevin Rupp of the law firm Rupp, Anderson, Squires & Waldspurger, to be the school district's legal counsel and person authorized to contact legal counsel are Board Chair, Superintendent, and Business Manager. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Dunlavey and seconded by Johnson to approve directing administration to make recommendations for reduction in programs and staff. Roll call vote taken. Member present voting yes: Thrush, Johnson, Dunlavey, Moore, Anderson, and Arp. Member voting no: None. Members abstaining: None. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Anderson and seconded by Dunlavey to approve mileage reimbursement payments at the current IRS Rate, which is 57.5¢ per mile starting Jan. 1, 2015. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Dunlavey to close the meeting at 7:32 p.m. for Superintendent Evaluations. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Johnson and seconded by Dunlavey to adjourn the meeting at 9:25 p.m. All members present yes, motion carried unanimously.