After a short break the Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on March 16, 2017 beginning at 8:05 P.M. Board members present were Mehrens, Kroenke, Eckhoff, Beaman, Parrott, and Yearout. Sell was absent.

Kevin Smith, Marc Spunaugle, Becky Eifert, and Carol Waibel were also present.

Correspondence shared with the board included the resignation of Teresa Viebrock (school nurse), resignation of Katherine Lawson (high school business teacher), and retirement of Mike Simons (Custodial/Maintenance). A motion was made by Eckhoff, seconded by Yearout to accept the resignations/retirement of these employees. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended that Theresa Roberts be employed for the full time custodial following the retirement of Mike Simons. Motion by Beaman, seconded by Parrott, to employ Theresa Roberts as full-time custodian for the 2017-2018 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith recommended the employment of Michelle Smith for the central office position. Motion by Eckhoff, seconded by Kroenke, to employ Michelle Smith for the central office position for the 2017-2018 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared the need to add an additional elementary special education teacher for the 2017-2018 school year. Mrs. Eifert updated the board on the current number of special needs students. Motion by Yearout, seconded by Parrott, to employ an additional special education teacher for the 2017-2018 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows:

High School principal Marc Spunaugle reported on his evaluations for Bobbi Swisher and Sandra Terrell and recommends tenure teacher contracts be offered to Bobbi Swisher and Sandra Terrell. Elementary principal Becky Eifert reported on Tracy Harm's evaluation and recommends a tenure teacher contract be offered to Tracy Harms. After discussion a motion was made by Beaman, seconded by Eckhoff to offer a tenure teacher contracts to Bobbi Swisher, Sandra Terrell, and Tracy Harms for the 2017-2018 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sellabsent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Benton County R-2 School District

Minutes – Executive Session

March 16, 2017

The Teachers for Consideration for 2017-2018 Contracts List was given to board members. The probationary elementary, special education, and secondary teachers were considered for 2017-2018 contracts. The respective principals reported on the individual teacher evaluations and answered questions presented concerning the individuals listed. After discussion a motion was made by Kroenke, seconded by Sell to offer probationary teacher contracts for the 2017-2018 school year to Jonna Allen, Lauren Colling, Jennifer Eckers, Travis Goosen, Kristin Monnig, Amy Smith, Tyler Burke, Cassy Nicolay, and Sheryl Jarrett. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Spunaugle shared background information on Kevin Lafavor and employment has been offered to him as an English teacher for the 2017-2018 school year per prior approval by the board.

A motion by Kroenke, seconded by Eckhoff, to renew the extra duty contract of Adam Curtis as Athletic Director for the 2017-2018 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Motion by Yearout, seconded by Parrott, to renew the extra duty contract of Cassy Nicolay as HS Girls Basketball Coach for the 2017-2018 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Motion by Beaman, seconded by Parrott, to renew the extra duty contract of Tyler Burke as HS Boys Basketball Coach for the 2017-2018 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearoutyes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

A motion was made by Kroenke, seconded by Parrott, to approve the administration offering employment to the best business teacher, special services, physical education, and nurse applicants following the interview process. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Beaman to adjourn the executive session at 9:10 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Sell-absent; Parrott-yes; Beaman-yes; Eckhoff-yes; Kroenke-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education