# Bamberg School District One Minutes of Regular Meeting of Board of Trustees Richard Carroll Elementary School 1980 Main Hwy., Bamberg, SC 29003

# December 14, 2020 6:30 p.m.

<u>Members present:</u> Board Chair Janeth Walker, Vice Chair John Hiers, Secretary Tony E. Duncan, Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg, and Trustee Naomi Eckels.

**Absent:** None

1. Call meeting to order: Board Chair Janeth Walker called the meeting to order.

**Notice to Media:** In accordance with the S.C. Code of Laws of 1976, as amended, Section 30-4-80(E), The Times and Democrat Newspaper and the Bamberg School District One Website have been notified of the time, date, place and agenda of this meeting.

#### 2. Approval of Agenda

Trustee Tony E. Duncan moved and Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg seconded to approve the agenda as presented. The motion passed 5-0.

# 3. Approval of Minutes

Vice Chair John Hiers moved and Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg seconded to accept the November 23, 2020 meeting minutes. The motion passed 5-0.

#### 4. Student/Staff Recognition and Superintendent's Report

Mrs. Brown noted the following:

#### a) Reduction in Out-of-District Tuition Fee

Mrs. Brown requested that this item discussion be postponed until the Board meets in January of 2021.

#### b) End of Course Testing

Mrs. Brown stated that the state superintendent Molly Spearman granted school districts flexibility regarding how EOC grades are weighted. The Board was asked to consider counting this year's EOC grades as 10% as opposed to the usual 20%. Vice Chair John Hiers moved and Trustee Tony E. Duncan seconded the motion to suspend the end-of-course test provision in Board Policy AR IKA-R and to give district administration the flexibility and the authority to reduce the weighting of EOC grades to 10% for the current school year. The motion passed 5-0.

#### 5. Second Reading: Policy GBAAA Sexual Discrimination and Harassment

Due to changes in Sexual Discrimination and Harassment laws in August and September 2020, the district's law firm, Boykin and Davis, provided a new policy for the district that needs to be put into effect. [Board Packet Enclosure]

Vice Chair John Hiers moved and Trustee Naomi Eckels seconded to accept for second reading Policy GBAAA – Title IX Sexual Harassment (Staff). The motion passed 5-0.

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes Page 2 of 2 December 14, 2020

#### 6. Approval of 2021 Board Calendar

Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg moved and Trustee Tony E. Duncan seconded to approve the 2021 Board Calendar as presented. The motion passed 5-0.

### 7. Monthly Financial Report

Board Chair Janeth Walker called for a motion to accept the Monthly Financial report as presented. Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg moved and Vice Chair John Hiers seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-0.

## 8. Visitors' Comments

None

#### 9. Executive Session

Board Chair Janeth Walker called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Trustee Tony E. Duncan moved and Vice Chair John Hiers seconded to enter into Executive Session. The motion passed 5-0.

The purpose for entering executive session was to discuss:

- a. Personnel Recommendation for Resignation
- b. Personnel Matters

Open session: Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg moved and Trustee Tony E. Duncan seconded for the Board to come out of Executive Session and return to the regular session of the meeting. The motion carried 5-0.

#### 10. Action on Executive Session Items

Vice Chair John Hiers moved and Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg seconded to accept under <u>Agenda Item 9 (a) Personnel Recommendation for Resignation</u> the resignation of employee A as presented; Vice Chair John Hiers moved and Trustee Naomi Eckels seconded to approve the retention of the proposal as presented under <u>Agenda Item 9 (b) Personnel Matters.</u> Both motions passed 5-0.

#### 11. Adjourn

Tony E. Duncan, Secretary

Board Chair Janeth Walker called for a motion to adjourn. Trustee Gwendolyn Dianne Bamberg moved and Trustee Naomi Eckels seconded to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed 5-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:10 p.m.
Minutes approved:
Janeth Walker, Board Chair