March 4, 2019

The Verndale Public School Board of Independent School District No. 818, Verndale, Minnesota met for a regular meeting on Monday, 4, 2019 at 6:30pm in the Verndale Media Center. The meeting was called to order by Chairman of the Board, Marcus Edin. The meeting started with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Bill Blaha, Shyla Hess, Marcus Edin, Chris Youngbauer, Tony Stanley, and Scott Veronen.

Members Absent: None

Others present: Supt. Mr. Brownlow, Principal Mr. Follingstad, Dean of Students Mr. Johnson, Trinity Gruenberg-Verndale Sun, Jen Veronen, Kelly Youngbauer, and Mary Gronlund.

Roll call was taken. A quorum was determined.

Motion by Bill Blaha, seconded by Chris Youngbauer to approve the amended agenda as presented by Mr. Brownlow, adding Region Five School Board Representative – Final Ballot. M/C

Recognition of the public.

Motion by Scott Veronen, seconded by Shyla Hess to approve the following Consent Agenda items:

- Minutes from the February 4, 2019 Regular School Board Meeting
- Payment of Monthly Claims: Checks 45537-45656 and wire voucher 49412
- Resolution to accept donations: None
- Approve the Following Personnel Items:
 - Resignations:
 - High School Special Education Teacher: Dawn Snook
 - Assistant Track Coach: Heather Ellis
 - Part-Time Custodian: Nancy Olson
 - Junior High Softball Coach: Alicia Strayer
 - Leave Request:
 - Childcare Leave: Nick Bunio
 - Employee Contracts/Notices of Assignment:
 - Long-Term Substitute Education Assistant: Karen Moyer

Roll call. MCU

- Report Items:
 - Monthly Financial Report: Mr. Brownlow
 - o Freshwater Education Report: None
 - Legislative Report: Mr. Brownlow

New Business:

Motion by Tony Stanley, seconded by Chris Youngbauer to approve hiring Maria Ervasti as K-12 Art Teacher. Roll call. MCU

Motion by Chris Youngbauer, seconded by Shyla Hess to approve the 2019-2020 School Calendar. M/C

Discussion was had regarding who will serve on the Sourcewell Representative Assembly for 2019-2020.

Vote was cast for the Region Five School Board Representative.

Administrative reports were given by Mr. Johnson, Mr. Follingstad and Mr. Brownlow.

Meeting adjourned at 7:15pm by Chairman of the Board, Marcus Edin.

Respectfully submitted by the Board,

Tony Stanley, Clerk

Mary Gronlund, Secretary