Minutes – Executive Session

The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on March 15, 2021 beginning at 7:39 P.M. Board members present were Mehrens, Yearout, Parrott, Sanders, Eichler and Koll. Rutherford was absent.

Kevin Smith, Marc Spunaugle, Becky Eifert, and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared information regarding the HS Principal applicants, he has received 8 total. Applicants were discussed among administration and interviews will be held this week with Mr. Spunaugle, Becky Eifert and a HS staff committee he has devised. Mr. Smith would like to set a board meeting on Monday, March 22nd at 5:30PM to bring in the top three candidates chosen by the staff committee to interview with the board.

Mr. Smith shared a letter of resignation from Laurel Larimore. A motion was made by Koll, seconded by Eichler to accept the resignation as presented. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Koll-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Parrott-yes; Rutherford-absent; Yearout-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

Mr. Smith shared information regarding the open HS Counselor position, he would like to wait to interview and hire a new member until we have hired a new HS Principal. Until such time, the position will remain open for applicants to apply.

High School principal, Marc Spunaugle, reported on Jonna Arnett evaluation and recommends a tenure teacher contract be offered to Jonna Arnett. After discussion a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Sanders to offer a tenure teacher contract to Jonna Arnett for the 2021-2022 school year. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Koll-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Parrott-yes; Rutherford-absent; Yearout-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 7 yes, 0 no.

The Teachers for Consideration for 2021-2022 Contracts List was given to board members. The probationary elementary, special education, and secondary teachers were considered for 2021-2022 contracts. The respective principals reported on the individual teacher evaluations and answered questions presented concerning the individuals listed. After discussion a motion was made by Parrott, seconded by Yearout to offer probationary teacher contracts for the 2021-2022 school year to Derek Riggs, Heather Kessing, Margaret Cook, Amanda Meyer, Kelly DeHaan, Shawn Rhoades, Renae Denny, Brandi Maddux, Ashley Brown, Allison Dady, Michelle Johnson, Lacey Lange, Taylor Mankin, Sarah Weatherby, and Shelby Williams. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Koll-yes; Eichleryes; Sanders-yes; Parrott-yes; Rutherford-absent; Yearout-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Eichler, seconded by Koll to adjourn the executive session at 8:10 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Koll-yes; Eichler-yes; Sanders-yes; Parrott-yes; Rutherford-absent; Yearout-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education	