The Benton County R-2 School District board members continued the meeting in executive session on January 21, 2020 beginning at 8:00 P.M. Board members present were Mehrens, Beaman, Rutherford, Ebeling, Eichler, and Yearout. Parrott was absent.

Kevin Smith, Marc Spunaugle, Becky Eifert, and Michelle Smith were also present.

Mr. Smith shared with the board a situation regarding a senior student who was recently expelled for student miss-conduct. The student has been expelled for 180 days and due to having an IEP, will be placed on homebound instruction for 5 hours a week beginning the week of January 27, 2020; this will allow the student to graduate in May, but not walk with the class. The student has returned to the district with local officer to apologize to the Superintendent and Principal.

At 8:10 P.M., Mr. Smith excused himself from the meeting.

At 8:16 P.M., Mr. Spunaugle and Mrs. Eifert excused themselves from the meeting so the board could conduct the annual evaluation of the Superintendent.

The board discussed the evaluation.

Board members considered extending Kevin Smith's superintendent contract for the 2022-2023 school year. It was the consensus of board members that Mr. Smith has met or exceeded all performance expectations in each performance area. A motion was made by Ebeling seconded by Beaman to extend Kevin Smith's superintendent contract for the 2022-2023 school year beginning on July 1, 2022 with the salary to be determined prior to July 1, 2022. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Eichler-yes; Ebeling-yes; Parrott-absent; Beaman-yes; Rutherford-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

At 8:23 P.M., Mr. Smith was called back into the meeting and was informed of the contract offer.

There being no further business for executive session a motion was made by Ebeling, seconded by Eichler to adjourn the executive session at 8:24 P.M. Roll call vote of motion carried as follows: Yearout-yes; Eichler-yes; Ebeling-yes: Parrott-absent; Beaman-yes; Rutherford-yes; and Mehrens-yes. Motion carried 6 yes, 0 no.

President, Board of Education	Secretary, Board of Education